Dean’s Greeting

Welcome to the webpage of the Faculty of Philosophy!

     Welcome speech

We welcome everyone who visits the website of the Faculty of Philosophy – one of the first faculties of Lviv National University founded in 1661. Re-establishment of the Faculty of Philosophy at the University in 1992 was a remarkable and symbolic event of independent Ukraine.

The Faculty of Philosophy is an educational hub for students, postgraduates, docents and professors, who cherish and establish academic traditions, develop modern Humanities, apply research results in the educational process by engaging students in scientific creativity. The Faculty prepares highly qualified specialists, who are to become spiritual and political elite of the Ukrainian nation and the guarantee of our advance, in such specializations as philosophy, culturology, political science and psychology.

The Faculty of Philosophy of the Ivan Franko Lviv National University is unique, because it does not have analogues neither in Ukraine, nor in Europe. Researchers, postgraduates, students and alumni of the Faculty are actively participating in academic, educational, public, cultural and socio-political life of our country. According to the results of all activities, in 2020, the Faculty of Philosophy ranked among the Top 10 humanities faculties of Ukraine according to Forbes in Ukraine.

The present and the future of the Faculty at

We invite you to study with us!


Dean of the Faculty Liudmyla Ryzhak